The Girl from Ipanema

Image

I think everyone has a “bucket list” dream vacation that they’d like to take.  I’m dying to go to Africa (mainly to photograph all the animals) but the place where I could pretend (in my mind) to be an A-list celebrity? St. Barts.  The above photo is Villa Teman, a 3 bedroom, 3 bath little “house” that you can rent for a cool $25k a night. Ummmm. What? Yes. You read that right. $25,000 a NIGHT.  A girl can dream.  And what would I pack?

Image

The Rope Stripe Bikini by J.Crew.  Love the nautical take of course.

Image

Because you are in the French West Indies, a french sailor shirt to throw on after a day at the beach.  The red stripe from Chance is a great staple.

Image

For dinner out, this A-line mod top from Emerson Fry is beautiful.  I think the lines of it are stunning and think it goes great with black pants (and a tan).

Image

This silk emerald dress (Pantone color of the year) by Calypso St. Barth is perfect because it can be worn casually with sandals or dressed up for night time.  The picture doesn’t even do it justice because the color is such a rich jewel tone and is lovely on (so flattering!).  Plus you can’t beat the price ($195).

 

Image

One of my favorite smells is Coppertone sunscreen.  It instantly transports me back to being a kid in the summer on Cape Cod. I remember how excited I was to discover Bobbi Brown “beach” shower gel and perfume because it smells EXACTLY like Coppertone.  I use the bath gel (and close my eyes and pretend I’m taking an outdoor shower after a day at the beach) and the perfume is perfect for a warm evening out.

Image

Because I have fair skin, it’s been tough to find a bronzer that doesn’t make me look like Snooki.  I was surprised when I found Chanel’s Soleil Tan de Chanel in Sunkissed.  It’s the perfect liquid bronzer because you can dab a little bit on the apples of your cheeks and look like you just got back from an exotic vacation.  Yes, it’s a little pricey ($55) but a little goes a long way and my bottle can last 9 months.  I wear it every day and love the lightweight feel.

I am obsessed with ballet flats but a nice alternative is a pretty sandal.  My new favorite is the “Georgica” by Jack Rogers.  Cork is kinda cool and I like the gold detail.  They’d look really pretty with a white jeans and a bright pedicure.

Screen Shot 2013-04-03 at 10.33.21 PM

I love this turkish bath towel from Serena & Lily because it’s such a luxurious splurge for the beach.  It has such a crisp clean look and would look so pretty draped over your beach chair or hanging in your bathroom.

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 12.30.06 PM

It was pouring rain here this morning and thought this post might be a temporary escape from the cold wet weather we’ve been having.  Hope some of you have a summer beach vacation planned.  Have a nice Thursday!

(P.S – links to all the items above are embedded in the text. Just hover your mouse over the brand name and it’ll take you to the site if you wish to purchase any of these.   J.Crew is having a 30% off final sale promotion right now and Serena and Lily is doing 20% off their bath event.)

Leave a Reply

