Favorite children’s books

Happy Wednesday!

Today is D-Day.  Well, tonight is the first night of my 28 day cleanse. Knowing this was on the horizon, I’ve been savoring my iced lattes (ironically, the reason I’m doing this.  So I can wean myself OFF of them), eating bread dipped in yummy olive oil and melting chunks of cheese and scooping them up with tortilla chips.  I definitely reach for comfort food when I hit a wall mid-afternoon.   I want to do this cleanse because I want to stop feeling tired, worn out and craving too much sweet and salt.  It will force me to eliminate  caffeine, sugar, dairy, alcohol and carbs for 28 days and I have to amp up the veggie intake.  The coffee and the dairy are going to be the toughest but I know I can do it.  I’m just not looking forward to caffeine withdrawal for the first few days.

On another note….

Why in the world did I let me dentist talk me into drilling out my temporary crown without novocaine on Monday? We were talking and the next thing I knew he was drilling.  I think I was in too much shock and was holding my breath for the pain.  Well, I did finally feel it, he ended up numbing my gum only to have to laser it.  I now I have crowns on almost all my teeth.  Weak enamel + too much candy over the years = I’m sending this guy’s kids to college. Ugh.

On another another note…

Last night I was telling Straw that I need to make a list of all the great picture books we’ve discovered over the last three years for Patrick.  I wish I had a list of all the ones I loved reading as a kid (I remember a few).

Well, I started a list.  My new thing I’ve been doing is buying a book to match an activity that Patrick’s been enjoying (he loves to “read” the “Very Hungry Caterpillar” to Straw at night so we are doing the butterfly “growth” kit.  We ordered caterpillars and now we’re watching them go through the whole cycle.  It’s pretty cool).

Here are the ones we’ve been really enjoying:

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 10.39.25 PM

“A Sick Day for Amos McGee “ By Philip and Erin Stead – Amos works at the Zoo.  He’s home sick from work and the animals decide to take a little field trip and visit him at home.

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 10.43.08 PM

“Dragons Love Tacos” by Adam Rubin.   Dragons loooove tacos, but don’t give them any spicy salsa.  They hate spicy salsa and they may burn your house down!

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 10.48.01 PM

“Up and Down” by Oliver Jeffers.   The boy’s penguin wants to fly but can’t and doesn’t understand why.  He runs off to join the circus to try to fly by getting shot of a cannon.   Such a sweet book about friendship.  I’m a big fan of Jeffers’ books.

Screen Shot 2013-04-24 at 11.09.22 AM

“Otto the Book Bear” by Katie Cleminson.  Otto lives in a book but unfortunately gets left behind when the family he belongs to moves.  Luckily he discovers the library and other book bears and book creatures.  Very sweet!

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 11.09.34 PM

“Memoirs of a Goldfish” by Devin Scillian.   The goldfish gets upset as his bowl gets more and more crowded with some pretty interesting characters.  Really funny and great illustration.  Can’t wait for “Memoirs of a Hamster” coming in May.

Screen Shot 2013-04-24 at 10.46.33 AM

“The Circus Ship” by Chris Van Dusen.   Love this book! A circus ship crashes off the coast of Maine.  Find out what what happens when the animals run amok in the small town.  If you’re not familiar with Van Dusen, his illustrations are pretty incredible and his talent for rhyming is terrific.  This book makes a great gift too.

Screen Shot 2013-04-24 at 10.53.06 AM

“Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site” by Sherri Duskey Rinker.   Each machine – The digger, crane, bulldozer – has an important job to do at the construction site but each have to wind down and go to sleep.

Screen Shot 2013-04-24 at 10.56.22 AM

“A Camping Spree with Mr. McGee”  by Chris Van Dusen.  I bought this for Patrick because he’s been doing a lot of camping and fishing with Straw lately.  Mr. Magee and his dog Dee have a camping adventure that involves marshmallows and a hungry bear. This is one of a series with Mr. Magee and Dee.  Another favorite from Chris Van Dusen.

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 11.01.44 PM

“A House is a House for Me” by Mary Ann Hoberman.  This book was published in 1978 and was one of my favorites growing up.  It’s exciting to see that Patrick loves this book and requests it often.  “A hill is a house for an ant, an ant, a hive is a house for a bee.  A hole is a house for a mole or a mouse, but a house is a house for me.”   Everything and everyone has a house from lions to lambs and farm animals too.   This is a good book for kids to learn about all different types of animals and objects.

Screen Shot 2013-04-24 at 11.06.03 AM

“Dog Loves Books” by Louise Yates.  “Dog loves books so much that he decides to open his own bookstore.”   Dog has many adventures as he escapes into the books he loves to read.

Screen Shot 2013-04-24 at 11.13.29 AM

“The Secret Lives of Princesses” by Phillippe Lechermeier.  An interesting take on non-traditional princesses.  This is a beautiful book and a favorite to give as a gift.

I had my ass kicked this morning by John the trainer at the gym.  This is my new thing – self torture.  I curse him (in my head) in the middle of our workouts but feel so much better when I’m done.  On my way home I started to feel panicky about not having coffee tomorrow.  Or the rest of the week.  Or for the next 28 days.  Now I know how alcoholics must feel.  Or crack whores.   I want to load up but know I shouldn’t (you don’t realize how bad your coffee addiction is or your dependence on it until the thought of it being gone is too much.)  Think of me the next time you’re in Starbucks.

Enjoy your day. C

(Photos courtesy of Amazon.com)

Leave a Reply

