House chic: Model Carolyn Murphy

Feeling slightly better but still coughing up a lung.

Oh and you know how I was starting my cleanse last week? Well, that lasted a day.  I should’ve looked around in the meeting and noticed that everyone was 50+ years old.  In other words, not taking care of small children.   When you’re doing that kind of cleanse where you’re substituting a lot of veggies and making sure your portions of veggies/protein/healthy fats are balanced for each meal, it’s hard to do it with someone yelling “mommee! mommeee! mooooomeeeeee!” behind you.  It was way too stressful.  Plus, I felt tethered to the kitchen (I mean, I love to cook but trying to experiment with new recipes with no carbs/sugar/dairy was distracting) and the day I tried to go cold turkey on caffeine was akin to the day Keith Richards detoxed from heroin in his heyday I’m sure.  When you call your husband to come home early from work when you’re practically bent over with cramps and a headache (“um, is this because of your cleanse? Is this why you’re calling me?) to help take care of your three year old, it’s time to throw in the towel.  It was one day, yes, but I was miserable. And all I could think was, “there are five weeks left?” A few things I learned:  1. Everything in moderation (I’ve made adjustments – eating healthy during the week and I’ve cut way down on carbs and sugar as well as stepped up my gym workouts to include way more weight training) 2. You have to do what works for you (and this model certainly wasn’t working) 3. You have to go at your own pace.  My body was physically reacting to a bad caffeine & sugar withdrawal and I wasn’t functioning.  My family comes first and when all you want to do is lie down on the ground in agony because you aren’t drinking your iced vanilla latte, you have a problem.  So….I’m feeling better, healthier, stronger and keeping in mind that “Rome was not built in a day.”

I’ve always been a fan of model Carolyn Murphy’s Grace-Kelly-Meets-Surfer-Girl classic look and style and when her California house was featured on a few design blogs, I was instantly smitten.  It’s like she transported a Provence-style farm house to So Cal and it has that comfortable, easy look about it that makes it perfect for entertaining.  I especially love the patio area with the table under the trees and the gravel back yard.  Tres chic.

Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 4.27.51 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 4.26.32 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 4.30.23 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 4.26.15 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 5.09.26 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 4.28.45 PM
Images courtesy of Habitually chic 

Leave a Reply

