This & That

Happy Wednesday!

How are you today? I’m doing well.  Trying to figure out how to get the office back in shape again (over the weekend it became our dumping ground for “where to hide shit when company is over and fool them into thinking your house is clean.”)  It’s amazing how laundry never ends, how you can fill up a paper shredder in no time, how the recycling bin overflows and the donation pile grows by the day.  How do we have so much stuff in our house? I don’t feel like we buy a lot, it’s just a matter of not having a place for everything (I have this weird notion that the moment I throw away a receipt, the item I bought will break, rip or fall apart).  I wish I could turn the house upside down and shake it out.  And I need to sell my stroller on Craigslist before Patrick applies to high school.

A couple of cool things for the week (or what I think is cool):

We watched “The Imposter” last week and were blown away.  Unbelievable. Scary. Strange. True. You can watch it on Netflix On Demand right now.

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 5.48.59 PM

I want to order this “bloom” paper table runner for my next party (by Cake Kitchen, $33)

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 5.01.54 PM

I love this candid between Carey Mulligan and Justin Timberlake at this year’s Cannes Film Festival.  Wonder what he said? They’re starring in the new Coen brother’s movie, “Inside Llewyn Davis” together.

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 9.07.23 PM

How sweet are these landmark ring dishes from Anthropologie ($12)? Of course I love the Golden Gate Bridge.

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 8.54.43 PM

Digging funny gal Kristin Wiig’s sexy photos in the June issue of Harper’s Bazaar.

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 9.11.09 PM

One of my favorite authors, Jeannette Walls (“The Glass Castle”, “Half Broke Horses”),  was recently featured in New York Times Magazine about how she comes up with good stories from bad memories.

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 9.14.44 PM

I may have to put this double breasted trench from Zara ($99) on my wish list.  Would look great with jeans and it’s perfect for a summer evening.  I’m also loving this look from them.

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 9.29.23 PM

How cute are these wooden utensils from Sweet Lulu? ($10) They’d be great for a picnic or a park play date.

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 10.55.57 PM

Wowza! Tory Burch makes Forbes list of billionaires.  See their other list of billionaire moms.

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 10.09.00 PM

Lovely color combo on these ballet flats from 993 nove-nove-tre ($90) from Yoox.com.  If you’ve never explored the site for shoes (lots of cool designs from around the world), especially ballet flats, you’re in for a treat (and everything is on sale now)

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 10.26.26 PMScreen Shot 2013-05-28 at 10.26.39 PMScreen Shot 2013-05-28 at 10.26.54 PM

I adore the painted wooden animal figurines from Holztiger.  They look great on a book shelf in a baby or kid’s room and make nice gifts (from $8).

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 10.37.45 PM

Jennifer Aniston recently invested in the Living Proof hair care product line.  The only reason I bought it was because I overheard a sales woman at Nordstrom say how great it is.  I tried it and love it.  I use their restore shampoo and conditioner but their frizz styling cream  ($28) is awesome (since having P, my frizzy hair is unbelievable!).

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 10.44.28 PM

Excited that “Memoirs of a Hamster” has come out from Devin Scillian. ($12)  I’m sure it’s as funny as “Memoirs of a Goldfish.”

(photos courtesy of sites mentioned and linked above)

Leave a Reply

