TGIF

Today I went to a new class with a new trainer.  And who is the first person I see when I walk in? My old trainer Jon.  You remember him.  The one who worked me so hard I was almost vomiting after each session? Yeah.  It was great.  He looked surprised when I walked in 2 hours before our regular time and then wouldn’t make eye contact in the weight room.  It was like when you cheat on your hairdresser with someone else and then you run into said hairdresser with a new cut or color.  Uncomfortable!!! I worked out today with Jenna, who was statuesque and lean like Gwyneth Paltrow but with a tomboy edge.  She was great and I never felt sick or pushed harder than I was capable.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m willing to work hard, but when you push yourself to a point where you wish you’d rather be anywhere else, that’s not good.  Jenna was very positive with all the ladies in the class and I didn’t feel like “Private Benjamin.”  I brought that up to Jon the last time; that I felt like Goldie Hawn in the movie, when she has her Louie Vuitton on her bed and she said, “ugh? what? I just laid down and now I have to get up?”  You know you’re getting old when you reference a movie like this to someone and the first thing they say is “Goldie Hawn……isn’t that Kate Hudson’s mom?”

It’s supposed to be 90+ this weekend and I can’t wait to get into the pool (with a bathing suit, rash guard, sunglasses and hat).  It’s funny…..in my 20s I would use SPF 4 and once got a burn that was so bad I wouldn’t leave the house .  Now I cover myself up like Nicole Kidman at the beach.

Speaking of pools, love the laid back style of 60s-era photographer Slim Aarons.  It would be cool to have an oversized piece of his taking up half a wall in a hallway or a living room.  I’m partial to the one he took in Lake Tahoe with the beautiful pine trees, mountains and lake in the background.  Back then, everyone was very tan, wearing frosted pink lipstick and Pucci.  I was born in the wrong era.   I’m sure he had great stories about his subjects and sipping cocktails in between shots.

Image

Screen Shot 2013-05-31 at 3.12.22 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-31 at 3.12.49 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-31 at 3.14.46 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-31 at 3.15.39 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-31 at 3.18.26 PM

And I’m dying to see this (and I know Straw won’t be the one coming with me).  “Scatter My Ashes at Bergdorfs” – a documentary about the store, it’s history, iconic windows and clientele.  It is truly an amazing place and has a real feeling of dramatic fantasy to it.  If you’re ever in NYC and haven’t been, you must go (and it’s incredible at Christmas time.)

So yesterday some guy robbed the Subway sandwich place right near my house.  What I got a kick out of was he ordered his food first and then robbed them (what did he get away with? 100 bucks?).  You know you live in a small town when they have the police helicopter, dogs and tons of cops looking for the guy.  Granted he was armed, but a police helicopter? This made me realize that I no longer live in San Francisco.  Facebook was ablaze with updates and the neighborhood watch forwarded a press release.   A press release?  He robbed Subway, not Tiffanys.  So weirdly funny.

Don’t laugh but I’m on the hunt for a navy blue blazer for P for a wedding next weekend ( I know.)  I’m pairing it with a gingham shirt (stop laughing, Julie).  I always say he has more of an East Coast look about him.  And yes he has boat shoes, Nantucket reds and a bathing suit with navy whales on it.  Again, born in the wrong era.  He would’ve perfectly fit in to one of Slim’s photos.

Have a great weekend! C

Leave a Reply

