Blurred Farm Animals

So, I have to write about this song because it’s now come up twice in conversation from two different people in the last 24 hours.

“Blurred Lines,” the new song by Robin Thicke, has been named “the song of the summer.”  I love it.  P loves it.  It’s a great song.  Fun to dance to, a little Marvin Gaye-ish, sing songy, bouncy.  I sing it when I’m getting in the shower, when it comes on at the gym, and when P and I do our afternoon disco dance party (and yes, we have one.  And yes, you’re free to join us.  When he was a baby, we’d disco-dance-party-it out to Ke$ha, but now it’s “Blurred Lines.” We’ve gotten sophisticated in our taste.)

When I was talking about the song to Straw, he was like, “is that guy related to Alan Thicke? (you know, of “Growing Pains” fame?) and yes, it’s Alan’s son.  And he’s quite hot.  And he knows it.

My friend told me to watch the video last night which I did.  But what was completely distracting for me, was, not the fact that the scantily clad models were doing their bored model thing around all the guys in the video, but that one of the models was holding……wait for a it…… a baby sheep.

WTF?

Nothing like singing about getting down with your lady and in your video you’re throwing farm animals in.  I could just hear the meeting for this: “so um, yes.  We want Robin to sing the song, wearing his trademark suit, aviators and we want him to sing to the half naked ladies around him with Pharrell Williams.  Oh, and we thought it would be cool if she holds livestock.”

‘Cause nothing says sexy like baby farm animals while you’re being serenaded by a sexy songster.

I’m so confused.  I’m getting old.  I remember when everyone thought Robert Palmer’s “Addicted to Love” was risqué with all of his models playing instruments in his back up band. I get it.  It’s shocking.  It’s supposed to be provoking and edgy.

But a sheep?

And why is she topless?

Are we supposed to be getting down to Top 40 and throw a little bestiality a.k.a zoophilia in the mix? And the look on her face is priceless.  Oh, you could think of so many hashtags.  #ThisThingIsHeavy #RemembertoLookSexy  #IWanttoRunbutICan’t  #PharrellisNowSingingTotheSheep

Please shed some light on this for me.  I actually just Googled “sheep in ‘Blurred Lines’ video” to see what would come up.  According to Vh1.com, Thicke is quoted as saying,

VH1: WHAT ABOUT THE GOAT?

“There’s a lamb. It’s a baby goat. (Laughs) There’s a lamb and a taxidermist dog (laughs), and sausage links. We pretty much wanted to take all the taboos of what you’re not supposed to do —bestiality, you know, injecting a girl in her bum with a 5 foot syringe— I just wanted to break every rule of things you’re not supposed to do and make people realize how silly some of these rules are.”

How silly some of these rules are? Sex with animals is a silly rule? No, silly rules are  having to get out of the pool at break time. Paying extra for sour cream with your taco. Or jaywalking.  Not sex with baby sheep.

Now I’m totally confused.  Are you?

Screen Shot 2013-06-26 at 4.19.44 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-26 at 4.16.40 PM

Leave a Reply

