On the Couch

Just got back from the Children’s Discovery Museum and I’m wiped.  I need a nap! Instead, I’m hangin’ on the couch writing this and about to jump into the shower to head out for dinner later with Straw.  Last week felt like a marathon.  I’m glad the 4th is over but not thrilled that it’s still 101 degrees here.  Now I remember why I don’t like summer….

Now that “Mad Men” is over, I’ve been scrambling for a new show (thank God “Dexter” is back on for it’s final season.  It’s been surprisingly good and Charlotte Rampling has been a nice addition to the show).  “The Killing” is still hanging in there (I love love love Detective Holder!) and Straw and I checked out “Ray Donovan” last night.

Have you seen this yet? It was surprisingly good and I’m hooked.  I go back and forth on whether or not I’m a fan of Liev Schreiber, but he is great in this. And Jon Voight can play a terrific creep.  Schreiber plays Ray Donovan, originally from South Boston who is a “fixer” for the Hollywood rich and famous.   His past catches up with him when his father (played by Voight) is unexpectedly released from prison.  I think Showtime has another hit on it’s hands.

I’m definitely putting “Clear History” on my list of what to watch because Larry David does his best Lebowski impression and it also stars my BF, Jon Hamm.   Looks hilarious!

One movie I’m looking forward  to seeing is “The Way, Way Back” with Steve Carell, Toni Colette and Allison Janney.  14 year old Duncan goes on vacation with his mom (Colette) and her overbearing new boyfriend (played by Carell).  Shy Duncan befriends Owen, the manager of the Water Wizz water park and has one of his most memorable summers ever.

And on my reading list:

Screen Shot 2013-07-09 at 4.31.48 PM
Dad is Fat” by Jim Gaffigan

Screen Shot 2013-07-09 at 4.33.59 PM
“Lost” by S.J. Bolton.   Her books are fabulous!

Screen Shot 2013-07-09 at 4.36.49 PM
“With or Without You: A Memoir”
by Domenica Ruta

Don’t judge my sloppy write up of my movie/tv reviews.  I’m hot, tired and hungry. C

Leave a Reply

