What Time is It?

Just got back from vacation where I ate a lot of wonderful food, had many delicious cocktails and indulged in too many desserts.  I got a lot of sleep, flipped through magazines at the pool with my best friend, had lots of laughs, shopped, laughed, drank, sat in the sun, slept, ate popcorn in bed and watched “Some Kind of Wonderful” for the 100th time, slept, hit the spa, enjoyed  iced coffees and today I’m hung over from my vacation.  I came home, stayed up late catching up on shows and was slammed back into reality at 5:45 am this morning when the three year old came in to tell me he was hungry.  I had a great time and was very excited to get home and see him but sometimes you wish you could wade back into your life versus feeling like you were thrown into the deep end in freezing cold water.  But that doesn’t happen with a three year old.  I know this sounds like I’m complaining but I’m not.  I know this sounds spoiled, but I think the lesson learned was I was still pretending like I had no where to be last night when I was surfing the web, watching TV and didn’t lay down until 1am.  In other words, still acting like I was on vacation.  You can’t do this when you’re a mother.  When you’re back, you really have to be back.  There’s no “taxiing on the runway before takeoff” any more.  When my girlfriend got home, she sent me a snapshot of the laundry that had piled up from being away from her husband and kids for 4 days.  The trip was wonderful but the carriage definitely turned back into a pumpkin when we walked through our front doors.

Oh, and the sugar/bread/drink detox starts today.


I’m looking forward to “Vintage Bowles” where Hamish goes all over the world in search for pieces for his couture collection.

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 12.59.14 PM

I would love to get all dressed up to see Harry Connick Jr. at Davies Symphony Hall in SF on August 7th.

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 1.00.56 PM

Loved how all the So Cal girls were rocking this Panama hat (J.Crew, $58) with aviators and beachy hair at the pool this past weekend.  Looks great with a beach cover up.

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 1.02.35 PM

I love this take on a monogrammed bracelet by Mannin Fine Jewelry ($395).  Would look pretty stacked with a few thin gold bangles.

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 1.05.55 PM

I know summer is in full swing, but one of my favorite colors is Thigh High by Essie ($4.90).   A perfect deep wine color for fall.

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 1.11.20 PMScreen Shot 2013-07-22 at 1.12.38 PM

Putting the Sugar Beach Resort in St. Lucia on my wanderlust list.  Wowza.

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 1.16.11 PMScreen Shot 2013-07-22 at 1.15.09 PM

Loving the photos and comfy recipes in the Home Made Summer cookbook by Yvette van Boven ($22.99)

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 1.20.41 PM

I think these nautical glasses from Paper Source ($19 for 4) are so cute and would look great on the kids table for dinner.

(photos courtesy of sites featured above)

Leave a Reply

