Bookshelves

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

If there’s one design element that I’ve always been fond of, it’s the eclectic bookshelf.  Maybe it’s because my parents had a built in bookshelf in the den filled with a ton of books growing up, but it’s certainly something I gravitate to when I think of a place to relax in the house.  One of my friend from high school’s mother had an office with a built in bookshelf surrounding a couch and I remember thinking that if I had a little hideaway like that, I’d never leave.  She had a round table in there with her day calendar on it and personalized stationery.  It was my idea of heaven.  What a lovely little retreat to have a room full of books.

There is an english language book store in Paris, in the Marais district, called the Red Wheelbarrow.  It’s how you picture a bookstore to look like in a movie.  Floor to ceiling bookshelves and stacks of books around the floor.  It’s the kind of place that you seek out to get lost in.

Image

Merci home store on the boulevard Beaumarchais in the center of Paris is a fabulous home and clothing store.  The best part is relaxing with a cup of coffee after an afternoon of shopping in their used book cafe.

Screen Shot 2013-07-31 at 5.23.04 PMScreen Shot 2013-07-31 at 5.28.03 PM

Leave a Reply

